Chessboard cake

I like cooking and baking, trying and inventing new recipes. I often bake cakes for my friends’ birthdays. This cake was made for a young man who likes playing chess. I post it here not because of the recipe (but you can find it at the end) but the look.

Colourful icing might look good but I find it too sweet and artificial. I prefer to decorate my cakes with something truly edible, having something to do with the original flavour of the cake. So after cutting the sponge cake into 3 20*20 cm squares I filled and covered the sides with coconut cream. The top is covered with my favourite and easy chocolate cream. I drew the chessboard on a paper and copied it to a transparent foil. Then I cut every second square so that the remaining ones stay together at their corners. I placed the foil on the top and sprinkled it with coconut shred and removed the foil.

To have the complete chessboard look, I pout 16-16 chocolate dragees and shreded almond pieces as the black and white chess pieces. I placed it over cake paper and used an old cake box to transport it to the birthday party.

sakk torta

Recipe (serves more than 10 people)

Sponge cake:
  • 200 g flour
  • 200 g sugar
  • 200 g butter/margarine
  • 200 g dark chocolate
  • 8 eggs
  • salt

 

Break the chocolate to small pieces and slowly melt it with 2 tablespoon of water (might use water bath). Melt the butter and mix it with the chocolate. Whisk the egg yolks with the sugar and slowly stir in the chocolate mass. Beat the egg whites with a pinch of salt and gradually add it and the flour to the chocolate mass. Place baking paper in a large baking tray, pour in the mixture and bake it 30 minutes a bit over medium heat. Let it sit for a few minutes then place it to a grid and let it cool.

Coconut cream:
  • 750 ml milk
  • 2 bags of pudding powder
    (neutral flavour)
  • 6 tbs. sugar
  • 150 g coconut shred
  • 150 g butter/margarine
  • 150 g sugar (powdered)

 

Cook pudding using milk, sugar and pudding powder (or any other method). Add the coconut and let it cool. Whisk the butter and sugar then gradually stir in the pudding. It is quite a lot of cream, don’t be stingy when filling the cake.

Chocolate cream:
  • 200 ml cream
  • cocoa powder
  • sugar
  • (stabilizer)

 

Cook cocoa with cream and let it cool properly. Whip it with an electric mixer. (Optional: add stabilizer before.) You will get a thick and yummy cream. I use it for other cakes as well.

(Magyar verzió: Sakktábla torta)

 

3 thoughts on “Chessboard cake

Leave a Reply

