Setting up a bullet journal for work

I’ve been flirting with the idea of a bullet journal for a while. I’m starting a new job so it seemed the perfect time to make one to take notes of all the new information and tasks. I had a cheap notebook with some hectic jots but I wanted to have a system for it and a more representable – or at least adequate – look. The system will be the bullet journal and my lovely and supporting ex-colleagues gave me a sexy red moleskine notebook as a goodbye gift – that solves the second part.

bujo-work-front

Professional vs. personal bujo

I’ve been thinking a bit whether I should separate the personal and professional part of my life or combine them. On one hand, it comes handy to keep everything together, in one book, see everything in one blink. It might be a good option too, if you have more jobs, do some sort of freelancing or have your own business.

On the other hand, I don’t think it is professional to open your notebook at a business meeting and showing everyone that ‘Mom’s Bday party’ is at what time on Saturday. Or when you are with friends and want to fix the next meeting and you stare at your work-related notes. That’s why I decided to keep them separate, use the bujo for work, even keep it there. For personal, I have a personal planner and I intend to keep it that way for a while so I can figure out which system works best for me.

Setting the bujo up

Setting up is very easy since you only need two things: a notebook and a pen. I got my notebook and chose a thin black felt pen that I already had at home.

There are gorgeous inspirations on Pinterest and Instagram for page layouts and a lot of ideas for collections. I kept the decoration to the minimum – plain writing, underlining, very few of a red and grey felt pen. Didn’t bother with pre-made collection pages – I will set them up when I feel I need them. So only did the very basics:

Index

The first two pages are for index. There is not much in there yet, but by the time I fill the 240 pages there will be.

bujo-work-index

Year at glance & future log

There is one page for seeing the rest of the year together, practically which date falls for which day of the week, when are the holidays. I gave the title ‘2017’ which belongs to the next page as well. One might call it ‘Future log’ but I don’t think it is important how you call it.

bujo-work-year

Monthly log

I set up May by writing the days (and initials for Monday, Tuesday, etc.) in a column. It will be the collection of important dates such as deadlines, days off, etc. There is a blank page next to it where I can write the tasks for this month.

bujo-work-month

Daily log

I have seen some layouts for weekly spreads or pre-drawn pages for the upcoming days. Honestly, I don’t want to have so much work and time invested in it. (I could buy a weekly planner and a Filofax.) I’ll just write each day, tasks, appointments and notes. I reserve the right to change my mind later though.

I started my first entry: added when and with whom I’m meeting the first day, what documents I need to take with me, when are the buses leaving for that direction and what things I want to ask.

bujo-work-day

Hopefully I could show you how easy it was to start a bullet journal. I will let you know how it worked out for me a few weeks later.

Magyar/Hungarian: Bullet journal munkába

One thought on “Setting up a bullet journal for work

Leave a Reply

